Liz's colonic journey

Whacky whacky warehouse

Wednesday, I had the unusual experience of being mobbed by upwards of ten 2 & 3 year olds. I was trying to get out of the WWW maze because D had decided not to go down the slide after all and decided to disappear into the jungle of obstacles inside the oversized jungle gym. The kids weren’t giving way to an elderly type trying to get down again. They did find my knees and legs useful levers in their determination to get to the top.

image

Unnerving to see multiple pairs of determined eyes coming at you. Nothing as single-minded as a two year old, I’m thinking.

image

This is me and Dougal after two hours of play. I was knackered!

An absolute pleasure is watching Lou reading D a version of the ginger bread man story, where he has to choose which stickers go in the text. And the iPad…

image

Yesterday we intended to go to the Adelaide Museum after visiting Tandanya, the aboriginal cultural centre. Love the art and stories of the Dreamtime … The dots that represent the songlines…hypnotic.

That involved tripping down Rundle St and we got distracted by Rundle Mall.How refreshing to look at shop windows in the open air. I mourn the loss of street shopping in SA. And it’s interesting to see different stuff in the shops. Cell phones and other gadgets in colours other than black for a start. I did notice though that most people stick to corporate black, grey and navy clothing. I stuck out like a sore thumb in my orange cords and purple fleece. This is definitely not Africa!

My lunch looked fabulous but was sadly very dry and bland. At the equivalent of R42 it was disappointing. One mustn’t convert currency though – you’d be gasping all the time. Otherwise the food is amazing. I think it would be very hard to be anorexic here, to much temptation.
Wee went to the central market on Tuesday. I was entranced by the breads and plums the size of your fist. Greek, Italian, Thai, Japanese, Chinese, Gujarati…yum.

image

More later.

Comments on: "Whacky whacky warehouse" (9)

  1. Sharon Bessell said:

    That beautiful little boy has got so big! So happy that you are having a fun time Liz. I can imagine the littlies using your knees and legs as useful levers. According to them, why else would you be there : )

    • The latest ‘lever’ role is he’s worked out that I can fit into his Big block plus train, that we bulky on Thursday. The rest get to be passengers with tickets during on the deck chair that is the ‘passenger carriage’. I get to ‘travel’ steerage. Playing havoc with the muscles! He keeps during me that it’s not sore!

  2. hey Liz great to hear that you’re having such an awesome time. Thanks for the gorgeous pics. D must be quite a handful & pleasure / the same time. tried to send u msg earlier, but guess my fone’s gone all faulty on me. wish u guyz more special times together with the family and enjoy the rest of ur vac.
    Luv,
    Nalini

  3. hey Liz great to hear that you’re having such an awesome time. Thanks for the gorgeous pics. D must be quite a handful & pleasure at the same time. tried to send u msg earlier, but guess my fone’s gone all faulty on me. wish u guyz more special times together with the family and enjoy the rest of ur vac.
    Lotsa luv,
    Nalini

    • Having a gorgeous time. Your message is probably on my SA sim. My Oz number is +0061 420765096! Email is good on the galaxy though.

  4. Dee Pratt said:

    Great to hear of your travels and see pics on my iPad while I lie back and chill with a cool pack on my knee! Sumi had results approved at HDC – sends her love.

  5. Just watched letters to God and am so thankful to God for choosing you to be his warrior- our warrior of light. Have a ball with the family. I know that you are making the best of each day. Thanks for your inspiration.

  6. So please you are all together and having a wonderful time Liz……… Sending Love and Hugs to All….

  7. Karen Read said:

    So glad you are having a wonderful time! Will be thinking of you all, and wishing you well!
    Also strange to think you are now on the same continent as Caitlin XXXX

Leave a Reply

